Troubridge Island Escape
What was once the old lighthouse keeper’s cottage has now been converted to bookable accommodation, providing a unique and unforgettable stay for those looking for something a little different. Enjoy being the only people staying on this sand island. Walk around in less than an hour and explore the bird life and shallow beaches, very safe for children to swim.
The Troubridge Island lighthouse was commissioned after the ship ‘Marion’ was wrecked on what is now known as Marion Reef. It is the first Australian lighthouse to be built of cast iron. Prepared in England and shipped in pieces to Australia, the lighthouse was completed in 1855, was manned from 1856 to 1981.
Located on the Troubridge Shoal, about six kilometres east south east of Edithburgh at the “heel” of Yorke Peninsula in South Australia. The Shoal and Peninsula were named after the Lord of the Admiralty Sir Edward Troubridge by Matthew Flinders in 1802.
The Island became a conservation park in 1982 and is a breeding paradise for Crested and Caspian Terns, Fairy Penguins and Pied Cormorants. Accessing the island is via boat from Edithburgh.
Mullet, tommies, King George whiting or flathead can be caught right off the beach so its friendly visitors can enjoy a beautiful meal of freshly caught fish in the impressive historical cottage.
Troubridge Island Escape can accommodate 12 people. There are six double and two single beds.
For Troubridge Island Escape information or bookings, please contact Mark and Lois Petersons
email@example.com or + 61 08 8889 2002.